DSK Shivajians FC is a club with Deep Roots, High Aspirations and Big Dreams…


The club was originally formed on 6th August 1987, under the name Shivajians Sports Club, and served as a platform for competition, entertainment and community engagement for locals from the Shivajinagar area in Pune. Many aspiring footballers from this locality, including the likes of Manoj Walvekar, Emanuel Jeevan, Moreshwar (Appa) Dhumal, Viju Deshmukh and Frank Norman came together during that time to set the foundation for the club. Thanks to these individuals and the sincere efforts of the club’s passionate leader the late Shri Ashok Vanjari, the club quickly became a force in the Pune football circuit.  

In 1987 itself, the management of Shivajians Sports Club successfully organized the first ever All India Floodlight Football Tournament, which held in Pune in the memory of Shri B. B. Walvekar. Some of the top teams in country such as Central Railway - Bombay, Madras Tukes, Bank Of India - Bombay, Sesa Goa, State Bank Of India - Hyderabad, Salsete Goa, Kampti Colonies - Nagpur, Bangalore Eleven, Kerala Police and Cochin Customs had participated in this tournament.


The golden era of the club was from 1990 to 2010. Over the next two decades, the club dominated the football scenario in Pune district. During this period the club won all the prestigious tournaments held in Pune, including the Dr. Hedgewar Football Tournament, Raja Shiv Chhatrapati Football Tournament, Rupmay Chatterjee Football Tournament, Dada Saheb Chavan Memorial Cup and Guru Teg Bahadur Football Tournament. The club also won many State level and All India Level football tournaments held in Kolhapur, Gadhinglaj, Miraj, Indore and Akola.

In addition to winning, Shivajians SC has always worked hard to uplift football in the Pune district by organising a series of training camps for youth around the city and running scholarship programs for economically unfortunate players. These efforts led to the development of many state and national level players including Jayant Sinha, Prakash Rawat, Indrakumar Kutty and Xavier Swamy.


After a decade of local dominance, the stakeholders of Shivajians SC set their sights on transforming the club into a fully professional organisation with a focus on developing young talent and impacting Indian football at the national level.   On 30th April 2010, Shirish Kulkarni, Executive Director of the DSK Group and former Shivajians SC player, was appointed as the President of the club adding a whole new layer of passion, professionalism and resources to the Shivajians.  

Then in 2013, the club got another boost as conglomerate DSK Group took full ownership of the organisation re-naming it DSK Shivajians FC and turning it into a private entity.  In that same year, DSK Shivajians FC participated in the I-League 2nd division which was the club’s first tryst with being a part of India’s national domestic competition. In addition to joining the I-League, DSK Group chose to invest in building world class football infrastructure at the DSK Dream City Fields in Loni and then partnering with global football giants Liverpool FC to set up the LFC International Academy – DSK Shivajians, a first of it’s kind residential football Academy currently housing and training 64 of India’s top youth talent.


In 2015, the All India Football Federation invited DSK Shivajians FC to join the I-League first division for the 2015/16 season and now the club is a regular in India’s top domestic league at all age group levels. 

"The higher we reach to the stars, the deeper our roots must burrow into the soil." 


1  Aizawl FC1837
2  Mohun Bagan AC1836
3  East Bengal FC1833
4  Bengaluru FC1830
5  Shillong Lajong FC1826
6  Churchill Brothers SC1820
7  DSK Shivajians FC1818
8  Chennai City FC1817
9  Minerva Punjab FC1813
10  Mumbai FC1813
1  Mohun Bagan AC37
2  Bengaluru FC24
3  Shillong Lajong FC33
4  DSK Shivajians FC33